First International Workshop on

Information Security (IS'06)

Oct 30 - Nov 1, 2006
Montpellier, France

IS'06 CFP in pdf

In conjunction with OnTheMove Federated Conferences (OTM'06)

Proceedings will be published by Springer LNCS


The goal of this workshop is to bring together researchers from the academia and practitioners from the industry in order to address information security issues. The workshop will provide a forum where researchers shall be able to present recent research results and describe emerging technologies and new research problems and directions related to them. The workshop seeks contributions presenting novel research in all aspects of information security.


Topics of interest may include one or more of the following (but are not limited to) themes;

  • Access Control and Authentication
  • Accounting and Audit
  • Biometrics for Security
  • Buffer Overflows
  • Computer Forensics
  • Cryptographic Algorithms and Protocols
  • Databases and Data Warehouses Security
  • Honey Nets
  • Identity and Trust Management
  • Intrusion Detection and Prevention
  • Information Filtering and Content Management
  • Information Hiding and Watermarking
  • Mobile Code Security
  • Multimedia Security
  • Network Security
  • Privacy and Confidentiality
  • Public-Key Infrastructure
  • Privilege Management Infrastructure
  • Risk Assessment
  • Security Issues in E-Activities
  • Security and Privacy Economics
  • Security in RFID Systems
  • Security and Trustiness in P2P Systems and Grid Computing
  • Security in Web Services
  • Smart Card Technology
  • Software Security
  • Usability of Security Systems and Services
  • Vulnerability Assessment


All submitted papers will be carefully evaluated based on originality, significance, technical soundness, and clarity of expression. All submissions must be in English. Submissions should be in PDF format and must not exceed 10 pages in the final camera-ready format for regular papers and 4 pages for position papers. Authors instructions can be found at:

The paper submission site is located at:

Accepted workshop contributions will be published by Springer-Verlag as LNCS (Lecture Notes in Computer Science) as a part of the workshop proceedings of the 2006 International On The Move Federated Conferences (OTM). Registering to the OTM conference and IS workshop is a prerequisite for the paper to be published.

Failure to commit to presentation at the conference automatically excludes a paper from the proceedings.


 Abstract Submission Deadline  June 23rd Extended to June 30, 2006 (HARD DEADLINE)
Paper Submission Deadline June 30, 2006 Extended to July 10, 2006 (HARD DEADLINE)
Acceptance NotificationAugust 10, 2006
Camera Ready Due August 20, 2006
OTM Conferences October 29 - November 3, 2006


Program Chairs

  • Mario Freire
    Department of Informatics
    University of Beira Interior

  • Simao Melo de Sousa
    Department of Informatics
    University of Beira Interior

  • Vitor Santos
    Microsoft Lisbon

Program Committee Members

  • Andre Adelsbach, Horst Görtz Institute for IT Security, Germany
  • Manuel Bernardo Barbosa, University of Minho, Porugal
  • Carlo Blundo, Universita' di Salerno, Italy
  • Fernando Boavida, University of Coimbra, Portugal
  • Thierry Brouard, Université de Tours, France
  • Ilyoung Chong, HUFS, Korea
  • Nathan Clarke, University of Plymouth, UK
  • Miguel P. Correia, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Gwenaël Dërr, University College London, UK
  • Paul Dowland, University of Plymouth, UK
  • Mahmoud T. El-Hadidi, Cairo University, Egypt
  • Steven Furnell, University of Plymouth, UK
  • Michael Gertz, University of California, Davies, USA
  • Javier Herranz, Centrum voor Wiskunde en Informatica, Netherlands
  • Sushil Jajodia, George Mason University, USA
  • Lech J. Janczewski, The University of Auckland, New Zealand
  • Hyun-KooK Kahng, Korea University, Korea
  • Stamatios Kartalopoulos, The University of Oklahoma, USA
  • Kwok-Yan Lam, Tsinghua University, China
  • Benoit Libert, UCL, Belgium
  • William List, Wm. List & Co, UK
  • Henrique S. Mamede, Universidade Aberta, Portugal
  • Evangelos Markatos, Institute of Computer Science (ICS), FORTH, Greece
  • Sjouke Mauw, Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands
  • Natalie Miloslavskaya, Moscow Engineering Physics Institute, Russia
  • José Pina Miranda, Multicert, Portugal
  • Edmundo Monteiro, University of Coimbra, Portugal
  • Yi Mu, University of Wollongong, Australia
  • Nuno Ferreira Neves, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • Maria Papadaki, University of Plymouth, UK
  • Manuela Pereira, University of Beira Interior, Portugal
  • Hartmut Pohl, University of Applied Sciences Bonn-Rhein-Sieg, Germany
  • Carlos Ribeiro, IST, Portugal
  • Henrique Santos, University of Minho, Portugal
  • Ryoichi Sasaki, Tokyo Denki University, Japan
  • Sung-Won Sohn, ETRI, korea
  • K.P. Subbalakshmi, Stevens Institute of Technology, USA
  • Stephanie Teufel, University of Fribourg, Switzerland
  • José Esgalhado Valença, University of Minho, Portugal
  • Serge Vaudenay, cole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Jozef Vyskoc, VaF, Slovak Republic
  • Paulo Veríssimo, University of Lisbon, Portugal
  • André Zúquete, University of Aveiro, Portugal