Tenth International Conference on

Cooperative Information Systems (CoopIS 2002)

October 30 - November 1, Irvine, California

Proceedings will be published by Springer Verlag


The Cooperative Information System (CIS) paradigm has been growing and gaining substantial importance in technological infrastructure (e.g., middleware and Web technologies) and application areas (e.g., e-Commerce, e-Government, virtual enterprises).  CoopIS is the leading conference for researchers and practitioners in CIS.  CoopIS brings together researchers from a variety of disciplines such as collaborative work, Internet data management, electronic commerce, human-computer interaction, agent technologies, and software architectures.  We encourage papers that emphasize cooperation across multiple areas.

CoopIS 2002 is a joint event with two other conferences organized within the global theme “On the Move to meaningful  Internet Systems 2002: Distributed Object and Applications (DOA) and Ontologies, Databases and Applications of Semantics (ODBASE). All three events will be hosted in Irvine during the week October 28 – November 1, 2002. More details about the federated event can be found at

The CoopIS 2002 has the theme Cooperation in Ubiquitous Computing. We see an increasing number of computing systems and devices connected everywhere.  The central issue in this vision is the need for these computing systems and devices to cooperate.  We are particularly interested in contributions that relate to the issue of cooperation everywhere. Of course, submissions on all topics related to cooperative information systems are encouraged, including (but not limited to) the following:


All submitted papers will be carefully evaluated based on originality, significance, technical soundness, and clarity of expression. All submissions must be in English. Research submissions must not exceed 8,000 words. Submissions can either be in Postscript, MS Word, or Pdf format and should be done through the following URL

The final proceedings will be published by Springer Verlag as LNCS (Lecture Notes in Computer Science). Author instructions can be found at

Failure to commit to presentation at the conference automatically excludes a paper from the proceedings.


Paper Submission Deadline:
June 17, 2002
Acceptance Notification:
August 8, 2002
Final Version Due:
August 17, 2002
October 30 - November 1, 2002


General Co-Chairs

Robert Meersman
Free University of Brussels
Building F-G 10, Pleinlaan 2
B-1050 Brussels
Zahir Tari
RMIT University
Department of Computer Science
City Campus, GPO Box 2476V
Melbourne, VIC 3001 Australia
Mike Papazoglou
Tilburg University
PO Box 90153
The Netherlands 

Program Committee Co-Chairs

Calton Pu
Georgia Tech
Stefano Spaccapietra

Tutorial Chair

Vipul Kashyap
National Library of Medicine, NIH

Panel Chair

Amit Sheth
University of Georgia, USA

Organization Chair

Douglas Schmidt
DARPA and U. Irvine, USA

Publicity Chair

Ugur Cetintemel
Department of Computer Science
Brown University, USA

Program Committee Members

Dave Abel (CSIRO, Australia)
Carlo Batini  (U. Roma La Sapienza, Italy)
Karin Becker (PUCRGS, Brazil)
Mic  Bowman (Intel, USA)
Alejandro Buchmann (Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany)
Omran Bukhres (Purdue U. School of Science, USA)
Ming-Syan Chen (National Taiwan U., Taiwan)
Phil Cohen (OGI, USA)
Panos Constantopoulos (U. of Crete and Forth, Greece)
Umesh Dayal (HP Labs, USA)
Antonio Di Leva (U. of Torino, Italy)
Anne Doucet (U. Paris VI, France)
Marie-Christine Fauvet (U. of Grenoble-France & UNSW Sydney-Australia)
Timothy Finin (U. Maryland, USA)
Avigdor Gal (Technion, Israel)
Li Gong (SUN, China)
Jean-Luc Hainaut (FUNDP, Belgium)
Arthur ter Hofstede (QUT, Australia)
Michael Huhns (U. South Carolina, USA)
Richard Hull (Lucent Bell Labs, USA)
Yahiko Kambayashi (U. Kyoto, Japan)
Larry Kerschberg (GMU, USA)
Masaru Kitsuregawa (U. Tokyo, Japan)
David Kotz (Dartmouth. USA)
Steven Laufmann (Qwest, USA)
Dik-Lun Lee (HKUST, Hong Kong)
Michael Luck (University of Southampton, UK)
Stuart Madnick (MIT, USA)
Toshiyuki Masui (Sony CSL, Japan)
Dennis McLeod (USC, USA)
Claudia Medeiros (Unicamp, Brazil)
JohnMylopolous (U. Toronto, Canada)
Clifford Neuman (ISI-USC, USA)
Shojiro Nishio (Osaka U., Japan)
Moira Norrie (ETHZ, Switzerland)
Maria E. Orlowska (University of Queensland, Australia)
Maurizio Panti (U. Ancona, Italy)
Christine Parent (U. Lausanne, Switzerland)
Barbara Pernici (Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
Louiqa Raschid (U. Maryland, USA)
Tore Risch (Uppsala U., Sweden)
Marek Rusinkiewicz (Telcordia, USA)
Felix Saltor (U. Poli. Catalunya, Spain)
Jean Scholtz (NIST, USA)
Thad Starner (Georgia Tech, USA)
W.M.P. van der Aalst (Eindhoven U. T., The Netherlands)
Kyu-Young Whang (KAIST, South Korea)
Mike Wooldridge (University of Liverpool, UK)
Jian Yang (Tilburg U., The Netherlands)
Masatoshi Yoshikawa (Nara AIST, Japan)