Supported By

  Subscribe to the OTM RSS Feed for News and Updates on the 2008 Conferences, Workshops and Future events

-- Proceedings now available online on Springer Verlag --

International Workshop on

Modeling Inter-Organizational Systems

focusing on

Collaboration and Interoperability, Architectures and Ontologies


October 31 - November 1, 2006
Montpellier, France

In conjunction with OnTheMove Federated Conferences (OTM'06)

Proceedings will be published by Springer LNCS


Modern enterprises face a strong economical pressure to increase competitiveness, to operate on a global market, and to engage in alliances of several kinds. Agility thus has become the new guiding principle for enterprises. This requires flexible organizational structures and business processes, as well as flexible supporting information systems and a flexible ICT-infrastructure. In addition, an enterprise needs to be able to easily expand or shrink, be it through collaborations with other enterprises, through mergers or acquisitions, or through insourcing or outsourcing of services.

In order to meet these economical requirements, enterprises rely increasingly on the benefits of modern information and communication technology (ICT). However, the appropriate knowledge to deploy this technology as needed, and in an effective and efficient way, is largely lacking, particularly knowledge regarding the collaboration in and between enterprises and knowledge regarding the interoperability of their information systems.

Up to last year, several successful MIOS workshops (Modeling Inter-Organizational Systems) have been held. Based on the inspiring experience of the 2005 workshop, the 2006 workshop will again be a real workshop, providing ample time for discussions, during two days. Consequently, the paper presentations will be short, covering only the highlights. In addition, the focus will be on CIAO: the problems areas Collaboration and Interoperability, and the application of Architecture and Ontology in dealing with them.


We want to gather researchers working on topics concerning inter- and intra-enterprise collaboration, and concerning the interoperability of information systems, covering issues like business process modeling, information systems modeling, enterprise and system ontology, enterprise and system architecture. The goal of the workshop is to share innovative research issues, and to facilitate profound discussions about them. Topics of interest to this workshop include, but are not limited to:

  • Modeling cross-enterprise business processes
  • Reference models for cross-enterprise business processes
  • Collaboration theories (e.g., the language-action-perspective)
  • Enterprise ontologies
  • Ontology-based business interactions
  • Enterprise branche specific ontologies
  • Enterprise architectures
  • Cross-enterprise workflow management
  • Business rules and business protocols
  • Business protocols standards
  • Deriving IOS from cross-enterprise business processes
  • Information system ontologies
  • Information system architectures
  • Component-based system development
  • Business components and metamodeling
  • Ontology-oriented web services (Pragmatic Web)
  • Interoperability testing and verification
  • Methodological standards
  • Business domain standards, e.g., accounting, billing, payment, SCM, purchasing


We are looking for articles on current or recently finished research projects as well as articles from practitioners. Papers should contain 3000 - 5000 words and should be submitted in PDF format. Submissions must be laid out according to the final camera-ready formatting instructions which can be found at:

The paper submission site is located at:

Accepted papers will be published along with the OTM 2006 Workshop Proceedings on Springer Lecture Notes in Computer Science. Failure to commit to presentation at the workshop automatically excludes a paper from the proceedings.

The authors of the best workshop papers will be invited to send an extended version of the paper to be published in the Journal of Enterprise Information Management. For information about the journal please refer to :


  Abstract Submission Deadline   June 15, 2008 Extended until July 7, 2008
Paper Submission Deadline June 30, 2008 Extended until July 7, 2008
Acceptance Notification August 15, 2008
Camera Ready Due August 25, 2008
Registration Due August 25, 2008
OTM Conferences November 9 - 14, 2008


Program Co-Chairs

  • Antonia Albani (,
    Chair of Business Information Systems and Systems Engineering,
    University of Augsburg, Germany

  • Jan L.G. Dietz (,
    Chair of Information Systems Design,
    Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

Program Committee Members

  • Wil van der Aalst (Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands)
  • Paer Agerfalk (University of Limerick, Ireland)
  • Antonia Albani (University of Augsburg, Germany)
  • Bernhard Bauer (University of Augsburg, Germany)
  • Emmanuel delaHostria (Rockwell Automation, USA)
  • Jan L.G. Dietz (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
  • Johann Eder (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Joaquim Filipe (School of Technology of Setubal, Portugal)
  • Rony G. Flatscher (Vienna University of Economics and Business Administration, Austria)
  • Kees van Hee (Eindhoven University, The Netherlands)
  • Jan Hoogervorst (Sogeti Netherlands, The Netherlands)
  • Christian Huemer (University of Vienna, Austria)
  • Zahir Irani (Brunel University, UK)
  • Peter Loos (University of Saarland, Germany)
  • Graham Mcleod (University of Kaapstad, South Africa)
  • Arturo Molina (CSIM-ITESM, Mexico)
  • Aldo de Moor (Free University of Brusssels, Belgium)
  • Moira Norrie (ETH Zuerich, Switzerland)
  • Maria Orlowska (The University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Erik Proper (Radboud University Nijmegen, The Netherlands)
  • Gil Regev (Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland)
  • Dewald Roode (University of Pretoria, South Africa)
  • Pnina Soffer (MIS department, Haifa University, Israel)
  • Arne Solvberg (NTNU, Norway)
  • Jose Tribolet (INESC and University of Lisbon, Portugal)
  • Klaus Turowski (University of Augsburg, Germany)
  • Vijay K. Vaishnavi (Georgia State University, USA)
  • Rene Wagenaar (Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands)
  • Christian Winnewisser (McKinsey and Company, Germany)
  • Robert Winter (University of St. Gallen, Switzerland)
  • Johannes Maria Zaha (Queensland University of Technology, Australia)